Skip to content

Ferc Vs. Shell Oil Co. - Court Judgment

LegalCrystal Citation
CourtUS Supreme Court
Decided On
Case Number440 U.S. 192
RespondentShell Oil Co.
.....general barnett, richard a. allen, and m. frazier king, jr. charles e. hill argued the cause and filed briefs for petitioner in no. 77-1654. thomas g. johnson argued the cause for respondents in no. 77-1652. with him on the brief were david g. stevenson, david m. whitney, w. o. strong iii, richard f. generelly, alan berlin, b. james mcgraw, edwin s. nail, justin r. wolf, thomas h. burton, robert c. murray, david c. henri, arthur s. berner, richard g. harris, william a. sackmann, tom p. hamill, robert d. haworth, john l. williford, paul w. hicks, richard f. remmers, james d. olsen, w. b. wagner, jr., pat f. timmons, john a. ramsey, paul j. broyles, karen, a. berndt, george c. bond, and kenneth l. riedman, jr. stephen m. hackerman, charles m. darling iv, john m. young, and michael b......
FERC v. SHELL OIL CO. - 440 U.S. 192 (1979)
U.S. Supreme Court FERC v. SHELL OIL CO., 440 U.S. 192 (1979) 440 U.S. 192


No. 77-1652.

Argued January 15, 1979
Decided February 22, 1979 *

[ Footnote * ] Together with No. 77-1654, Consumer Energy Council of America v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, also on certiorari to the same court.

566 F.2d 536 , affirmed by an equally divided Court.

Howard E. Shapiro argued the cause for petitioner in No. 77-1652 and respondent in No. 77-1654. With him on the briefs were Solicitor General McCree, Deputy Solicitor General Barnett, Richard A. Allen, and M. Frazier King, Jr. Charles E. Hill argued the cause and filed briefs for petitioner in No. 77-1654.

Thomas G. Johnson argued the cause for respondents in No. 77-1652. With him on the brief were David G. Stevenson, David M. Whitney, W. O. Strong III, Richard F. Generelly, Alan Berlin, B. James McGraw, Edwin S. Nail, Justin R. Wolf, Thomas H. Burton, Robert C. Murray, David C. Henri, Arthur S. Berner, Richard G. Harris, William A. Sackmann, Tom P. Hamill, Robert D. Haworth, John L. Williford, Paul W. Hicks, Richard F. Remmers, James D. Olsen, W. B. Wagner, Jr., Pat F. Timmons, John A. Ramsey, Paul J. Broyles, Karen, A. Berndt, George C. Bond, and Kenneth L. Riedman, Jr. Stephen M. Hackerman, Charles M. Darling IV, John M. Young, and Michael B. Silva filed a brief for Tenneco Oil Co. et al., respondents in No. 77-1652. Edwin W. Edwards, Governor of Louisiana, William J. Guste, Jr., Attorney General, James R. Patton, Jr., David B. Robinson, and Harry E.

Page 440 U.S. 192, 193

Barsh, Jr., filed a brief for the State of Louisiana, respondent in No. 77-1652.Fn


Page 440 U.S. 192, 193

Briefs of amici curiae urging reversal were filed by Robert J. Hobbs for the Action Alliance of Senior Citizens of Greater Philadelphia; by Frederick Moring for the Associated Gas Distributors; and by Charles F. Wheatley, Jr., for the United States Conference of Mayors et al. Avrum M. Gross, Attorney General, Robert M. Maynard, Assistant Attorney General, and Robert H. Loeffler filed a brief for the State of Alaska as amicus curiae urging affirmance.


The judgment is affirmed by an equally divided Court.

MR. JUSTICE STEWART took no part in the consideration or decision of these cases.

Page 440 U.S. 192, 194

Save Judgments// Add Notes // Store Search Result sets // Organizer Client Files //